Once upon a time, YouTube didn’t exist

Standard

Today, I was watching a 90 minute youtube video. It was a talk my mother wanted me to watch. It was interesting, but as I was watching I suddenly had a flashback to the first time that I remember using youtube.

The internet we used in Southeast Asia, where I grew up, did not really allow us to watch videos for some technological reason unknown to me; they always froze in the middle. The reason why youtube is so special is that I very distinctly remember when a friend, TimothĂ©, emailed a link to a video. I very distinctly remember clicking on the link and thinking, oh, it’s not gonna work! But, I thought I would give it a chance, and it did not disappoint. The link worked! I was in shock. I made a note of this website, and have been using it ever since.

Today, when I look back to that day I think about how huge youtube has become and how everyone uses it today, probably on a daily basis! Facebook’s recent IPO is another example of how quickly things are changing these days.

https://i0.wp.com/s3.amazonaws.com/greenwala-attachments/production/attachments/2170/large/glass-of-water.jpgWhen I think about how many of us worry today about the next generation, and we want to make a real difference in the world, I find these examples inspiring in a funny way. Some think that websites such as YouTube and Facebook are part of the problems facing today’s generation, however, no matter what one’s opinion is regarding this issue, I want to move past that. I think it’s an example of how quickly we might be able to change things. It’s all about seeing the glass half full.

It’s so much easier to get the word out about something really phenomenal. It’s not easy, now, it’s EASIER. Also, things can actually change really fast. That’s enough to get excited. There’s more too seeing the glass half full, look at how quickly the glass can get full!

Leave a comment